Manage users

In order to manage users, you have to be a “superuser” and login to the Steering administration interface.

You can reach that admin interface via /steering/admin/. If your AURA installation is available under aura.myradio.org the URL to reach that interface is aura.myradio.org/steering/admin/.

Here you can log in with your usual credentials you are using for Dashboard too.

The screenshot outlines the section relevant for managing users and groups.

List all available users

To get a list of available users click “Benutzer”.

From here you can click individual users for editing their details. It’s also possible to search or filter users by different attributes.

Create new users

To create a new user, click the button “Benutzer hinzufügen”.

LDAP creates users automatically

Please check back with your IT team, if you are having LDAP in place. When using LDAP there is no need to create users manually.

There you need to enter a username and password, then click “Sichern und weiter Bearbeiten”.

You can then complete the personal information for the user by the entering the first, the last name and the email address:

Then, under Permissions, first you need to check the “Active” and “Staff status” checkboxes. This will ensure the user can login using the dashboard.

Only select the “Superuser status” checkbox if you want to allow the user to not only manage the programme, but also users and groups.

After this, you can select the groups the user belongs to.

“Host” and “Programme Manager” are self-explanatory, “Host+” gives hosts additional permissions to a host.

You should select either “Programme Manager” or “Host” (and additionally “Host+” if you want to grant additional permissions to this user).

Alternatively you can individually assign specific permissions to this user.

But be aware: there are 80, default permissions and 35 custom permissions for the program application.

Refer to Manage groups & permissions for the details on the permissions.

After that click “Save”.

Deactivate and delete users

The administration panel allows you to delete users by pressing the “Delete” button.

Alternatively, you can also de-select the “active” checkbox. This means the user data is still available, wherever it’s needed, but the user is not able to login anymore.

Always prefer deactivation over deletion

When in doubt which approach you should choose, always prefer to deactivate the user account. Deleting a user destroys all the historic data and should only be chosen when you are aware about the consequences.